Reusable Toddler Friendly Snack Bag

My preschool provider recently sent home a newsletter talking about packing waste free lunches for the kids. Keeping all those plastic wrappers and containers out of landfills. We usually buy in bulk and repackage in reusable containers but I thought it would save us some money to reuse ziplock bags. I came up with this pattern and sewed it really quickly. The tabs help my 2 year old open the stiff Velcro.

20140208-150049.jpg
This shows a sandwich bag also but that tutorial another day…

I used oil cloth I had left over from a couple of baby projects, some sew on Velcro and fabric to make tabs but I would recommend ribbon. I used fabric because all my ribbon was in the nursery with a sleeping baby 🙂

Step 1: Cut your oil cloth to a size that, when folded in half, is the bag size you want. I wanted a 3x5in bag so my square was 6x5in. I used pinking shears because it gave the bags a nice finished looking edge.

Step 2: Cut you Velcro to length. Mine was 5in.

Step 3: Pin your Velcro to your two short edges and pin your tabs in between the Velcro and oil cloth and sew down. I sewed around all 4 edges to make it good and sturdy. Remember these were going in my 2 year olds lunch box. Repeat on the other side.

20140208-152223.jpg

Step 4: Turn you bag with outside in and stitch down both sides.

Turn right side out and your done!

20140208-152502.jpg

20140208-152532.jpg

Leave a Reply

